2020 Muscogee Teacher of The Year Has Been Announced!

Jan 31, 2020 | Location Columbus Bradley Park

This story from Mark Rice at the  Ledger  Enquirer

The 2020 Teacher of the Year in the Muscogee County School District will be selected from one of the 56 nominees announced Wednesday.  

MEEF is a nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by focusing on teachers who are innovative and exceptionally effective. In its 24-year history, the foundation has awarded more $2.6 million to such educators through the Teacher of the Year and Harvard Fellows programs and other grants.



Allen: Penelope Osborn

Blanchard: Hae Jin Kim

Brewer: Pashion Cooks

Britt David: Lisa Seegar

Clubview: Lara Lasseter

Davis: Chelsea Dial

Dawson: Anissa Alvarado

Dimon: Kathryn Kemp

Dorothy Height: Michele Gore

Double Churches: Jamie Hagan

Downtown: Lawanda Lovett-Cunningham

Eagle Ridge: Shannon Hopkin

Forrest Road: Deborah Wall

Fox: Misha Frander

Gentian: Ann Hancock

Georgetown: Evelyn Graddick

Hannan: Mekiko Ford

Johnson: Joanne Wilson

Key: Jeneka Bennett

Lonnie Jackson: Lucretia Ringer

Martin Luther King Jr.: Tanisha Hemingway

Mathews: Tammy McBee

Midland: Jennifer Bussey

North Columbus: Kellie Henderson

Reese Road: Sicily Coleman

Rigdon Road: Dominique Scott

River Road: Lisa Elliott

South Columbus: Deirdre Howell

St. Marys Road: Carrie Abercrombie

Waddell: Tara Lewis

Wesley Heights: Mendy Maynard

Wynnton: Brandy Crosby



Aaron Cohn: Rachel Fahnestock

Arnold: Nichole Glozier

Baker: Ma’Shanda Burch

Blackmon Road: Stacy Jenkins

Double Churches: April Davis

East Columbus: Dell King

Eddy: Courtney Hudgins

Fort: Alexis Wright

Midland: Heather Jay

Richards: Deborah Rhodes

Rothschild: Sandra Hardeman

Veterans Memorial: Mollie Hoffman



Carver: Mario Nazien

Columbus: Karlyn McConnell

Hardaway: Kaveh Felfeli

Jordan: Amittia Smith

Kendrick: Willie Washington

Northside: Chelsie Rogers

Shaw: Felicia Gunn

Spencer: Tomacia Johnson



AIM (alternative school): Edna Murray

Rainey-McCullers School of the Arts: Kelley Taylor

St. Elmo Center for the Gifted: Meredith Urquhart

Woodall Center (special education): Wendye Melzar



Retired educator Tom Hackett, formerly Phenix City Schools superintendent and Columbus State University provost, is chairman of the 2020 MCSD Teacher of the Year selection committee. Other members are:


Carl Brown, insurance broker, owner of C. Brown & Associates

Bridget Downs, assistant dean for community outreach at CSU

Rita Ellis, managing partner at Key 2 Wall Street

Spencer Garrard, retired CSU education professor

Melanie Gouine, 2018 MCSD Teacher of the Year

Donovan Granville, district manager for Social Security Administration

Sheryl Green, 2015 MCSD Teacher of the Year

Shane Larkin, 2017 MCSD Teacher of the Year

Bridget Markwood, education consultant

Marquette McKnight, CEO of Media, Marketing and More, executive director of MEEF.

Ty Webb, water resource engineer at Barge Design Solutions.



What: Muscogee County School District 2020 Teacher of the Year gala. 

When: May 7, 6 p.m. reception, 6:45 p.m. dinner, followed by the announcement of the winner. 

Where: Columbus Convention & Trade Center ballroom, 801 Front Ave. Tickets: $50, on sale starting March 21 at RiverCenter for the Performing Arts box office, 900 Broadway.

Locations near
Could not find Center, try again